Bachelor of Computer Science (Honours) 

Computers are becoming part of our lives, changing virtually everything from the objects around us to the ways in which we communicate, travel, work and play. Computer Scientists shape the future by developing computational techniques, design systems and develop solutions to build advanced civilisation. Computer Science has now become a key enabler for discovery and innovation in many other fields, making it a highly relevant programme of study. 

This programme aims to prepare graduates who are technically competent in design, development and implementation of computing systems. Students will be equipped with a suitable mathematical background and solid computing knowledge for them to excel in the areas of software engineering, artificial intelligence and data analytics. Students will be trained to possess strong analytical and critical thinking to solve problems by applying knowledge, principles and skills in Computer Science.

Last but not least, students will be provided with entrepreneurial skill and exposed to real world challenges to broaden their horizon and career prospects. The programme offers 3 areas of specialization in Computer Science for students: 

(i) Artificial Intelligence Option 

(ii) Software Engineering Option 

(ii) Mobile Application Development Option. 

Programme Details:


Bachelor of Computer Science (Honours)

Accreditation Status:   

Fully accredited   


3 years (Full-time), 6 years (Part-time)


January, June, October   

Total Programme Fees:   

RM46,350 (Malaysian); RM49,100 (Part-time, Malaysian)  

RM63,250 (International)

Medium of Instruction:   



Kampar, Perak  


Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (FICT)  

Career Prospects:

  • Data Analyst/Engineer 
  • Programmer 
  • Software Developer
  • Software Engineer 
  • Software Project Engineer
  • System Analyst 
  • Web/Mobile Application Developer
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI) Software Engineer  

Professional Recognition/Accreditation:

The UTAR Bachelor of Computer Science (Honours) is recognised by the following organisations.